Roma to face Monchengladbach, Basaksehir and Wolfsberger in Europa League as group stage draw made

Roma will play Borussia Monchengladbach, Istanbul Basaksehir and Wolfsberger in the Europa League group stages after the draw was made today.

Roma take their place in Group J for the tournament, which will begin on 19th September – in between Serie A games against Sassuolo and Bologna. The remaining dates for the group stage games are 3rd and 24th October (in between Lecce and Cagliari, and Sampdoria and AC Milan respectively), 7th and 28th November (between Napoli and Parma, and Brescia and Verona) and 12th December (between Inter and SPAL).

Borussia Monchengladbach came fifth in the Bundesliga last season, and in the summer signed Breel Embolo from Schalke, while selling Thorgan Hazard to Borussia Dortmund.

Istanbul Basaksehir will represent a homecoming for Roma winger Cengiz Under, who signed from the Turkish club in 2017. They came second in the Super Lig last season, but lost their Champions League third qualifying round tie with Olympiacos

Finally, Wolfsberger are competing in the group stages of a European competition for the first time after placing third in the Austrian Bundesliga last season.

Roma were top seeds for the group thanks to their impressive UEFA coefficient, having qualified for the competition after finishing sixth in Serie A. Initially scheduled to begin competing in the second qualifying round, Roma took Milan’s place in the group stage after they were expelled from the competition.

With Torino, who took Roma’s place in the qualifiers, knocked out by Wolves on Thursday, it means there will only be two Italian teams in the group stages – the other being Roma’s great rivals and next league opponents Lazio, who qualified by virtue of winning the Coppa Italia, and will face Celtic, Rennes and Cluj.

Roma are competing in the Europa League for the first time since 2017, when they dropped into the group stages after losing to Porto in a Champions League play-off. That season, Luciano Spalletti’s side reached the Round of 16, losing to Lyon over two legs.

This year’s final will take place in Gdansk, Poland, on 27th May 2020.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.